food and family in salt lake city

Celebrating 5 years is a big deal around here. Five means kindergarten. Five means no more shots for 6 years. Five means you are a big kid now. Five means where the heck did my baby boy go?!

Five years ago, I gave birth to a healthy baby boy weighing in at 8 lbs. 11 oz and 19 inches. I did this all naturally mind you—yep, no pain meds, and he was worth it. It’s one of my proudest moments and I’d do it again (in fact I did, but with a baby girl).

Yes, I’m talking about my peanut butter addict, Quinn. He turned 5 years old this week. I’m a little emotional. I know he’s still little, yet he’s not. He’s been riding a bike without training wheels for a year now. He writes his name. He already has had a girlfriend. He builds his Lego sets all by himself. He knows more about dinosaurs, bugs, and animals than I ever have. So when he told me he wanted to go to the zoo for his Birthday, I wasn’t surprised a bit. We celebrated on Monday since it was Memorial day and we were all off. It rained, but we went anyway. The weather never stops Quinn from his outdoor adventures. He enjoyed it, as he always does.

This cake was unique. It wasn’t like any other that I’ve made before. I wanted to try it because Quinn absolutely loves his peanut butter. It turned out beautifully and tasted delicious too. I was surprised about the texture of the cake. It was heavier and a little more dense the first day, but the next day it turned softer and more moist. Never the less, it tasted great both days.

The 7-minute frosting was fun to make. I’d heard of it before, but I had never tried it. It was different, and in the end, I was impressed because I had made my very own marshmallow fluff. At least that’s what it tasted like to me. It went nicely with the cake, and I took author’s advice and served it with chocolate peanut butter ice cream. It was perfect. Oh, and the entire cake only took a half a stick of butter!

(Scroll down for more pictures of Quinn’s birthday adventures.)

Peanut Butter Swirl Cake

(from Living Tastefully)

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
1/4 cup unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar
2 eggs
2 cups sifted cake flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Peanut Butter Swirl Frosting, recipe follows

1.  Cream peanut butter and butter; gradually add sugar, beating at medium speed with an electric mixer until blended.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
2.  Combine flour, baking powder, soda, and salt; add to creamed mixture alternately with milk, beginning and ending with flour mixture.  Mix well after each addition.  Stir in vanilla.
3.  Pour batter into 2 greased and floured 8-inch round cake pans that have been lined with a disc of waxed paper.  Bake on the middle shelf of a preheated 350˚F oven for 30-35 minutes, or until a wooden pick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.  Cool in pans for 10 minutes. Run a thin knife around the edge of each cake and remove from pans; let cool completely on a wire rack.
4.  Spread Peanut Butter Swirl Frosting between layers and on top and sides of cake.  Dollop small scoops of frosting onto the top of the cake and swirl decoratively with a knife (I used a tooth pick).

Peanut Butter Swirl Frosting

1 1/2 cups sugar
2 egg whites
1/3 cup water
2 teaspoons light corn syrup
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 tablespoons creamy peanut butter

1.  Combine first 5 ingredients in top of a double boiler; beat at low speed with an electric mixer for 30 seconds or just until blended.
2.  Place over boiling water and beat constantly at high speed for 6 minutes or until stiff peaks form; remove from heat.  Add the vanilla and beat an additional 1 minute or until frosting is thick enough to spread.  Remove 1/4 cup (I used more like 1/3 cup) of frosting and combine with peanut butter in small bowl, stirring well.  Set peanut butter mixture aside to swirl on top of the frosted cake.

“Always (the frosting is) best eaten the day it is made, but the cake is still extremely good the day after, altho’ the frosting will be a bit crustier (something I don’t mind at all).”

I’d have to agree.

Intent on getting his Legos open, thanks Mimi!

Quinn on an animal that's almost as fast as him.

Quinn and Xavier will smile, but never look at the camera.

Quinn was so excited for his "3" dollars from Grandma and Grandpa.

Comments on: "Peanut Butter Swirl Cake" (6)

  1. 8 lb 11 oz, natural? DANG, you’re a champ! Im a pb ADDICT! I put it on everything, even salads. I NEED some of this swirly cake!

  2. I just have to tell you–that is the most beautiful swirl action I’ve ever seen on a dessert. It really is stunning, and I bet it tastes even better. Whoa, mama–you did great!

  3. Shreela said:

    I came here from FoodGawker’s feed in the hopes I could see HOW the swirls were made, but I see this was a birthday celebration post, awww!

    Well maybe next time you make a cake with a swirly top, you might take a few how-to pics and post it to FoodGawker? I can’t even imagine how to do this with a toothpic LOL

    • Shreela-
      It was so easy, really. I just put a few dollops of the peanut butter frosting mixture on top of the white frosting, then gently swirled it around with the very tip of a toothpick. You could practice on a plate first if you’re afraid, but it was so easy. I will take pics next time just for you. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers