food and family in salt lake city

Yes, more muffins. 

A good friend of mine made the comment that I make more muffins than anyone she knows. It’s true, I do make a lot of muffins, and probably more than anyone even I know. Muffins are just so easy to feed my children. They are a grab and go snack, and I can hide things in them easily. I’m talkin’ fruits and veggies people-not razors or poison.

For these Raspberry Lemon Crumble Muffins, I combined two different recipes, and they really turned out perfectly. I will definitely be making these again. They had a light lemon flavor with raspberry tartness bursting throughout, and a sweet lemon-sugar crumb topping. I’d say they were scrumptious-deliumptious.

Raspberry Lemon Crumble Muffins

Muffins:
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
Juice of 1 lemon, plus enough milk to fill 1 cup
4 tablespoons canola oil
Zest of 1/2 lemon
1 cup raspberries

Crumb Topping:
1/3 cup sugar
3 tablespoon flour
zest of 1/2 lemon
2 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup almonds, sliced or chopped (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Arrange 12 paper liners in muffin tin or grease 12 muffin cups thoroughly.

2. For the topping, stir together sugar, flour and zest in a small bowl. Stir in melted butter till mixtre is crumbly. Add almonds if using, and set aside.

3. Sift the flour and baking powder into a mixing bowl.

4. Stir in the sugar; then make a well in the center.

5. Mix the egg, lemon juice/milk, lemon zest and oil together in a bowl, pour into the flour mixture and mix quickly until just combined.

6. Add the raspberries and lightly fold them into the mixture until just combined. Spoon the mixture into the prepared paper liners, filling them about two-thirds full.

7. Divide the crumb topping between the 12 muffins, sprinkling and pressing slightly onto muffin batter if needed.

8. Bake 20-25 minutes, until golden brown and firm in the center. Transfer to a wire rack and serve warm or cold.

Track Backs:
Table for Two 

Comments on: "Raspberry Lemon Crumble Muffins" (16)

  1. I have been on a massive streusel kick lately, addicting stuff! These muffins look totally perfect, anything with lemon in and its a winner with me but add the fresh pop of a raspberry…heavenly :) really lovely post, definitely saving this one

  2. Ha ha That was ME!
    I went to foodgawker looking to see if I’d be able to recognize which one was yours just from the picture. I did. The paper gave it away, that’s one of my favorite ones.

  3. I’m loving EVERYTHING about these beautiful muffins! Mm mm!!! Baking these asap!! :)

    New to your blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  4. I don’t think I’ve ever seen prettier muffins than these. Love that crumble topping. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till Monday and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your muffins up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/07/sweets-for-saturday-25.html

  5. Can NOT wait to try these!! Thanks!!

  6. Do you think you could use buttermilk instead of regular milk in this recipe? I’ve always heard that buttermilk makes muffins moist. Not sure if there are is any reason why it wouldn’t be a good idea to substitue milk for buttermilk.

  7. buttermilk for milk I mean… : )

  8. So, I tried the crumb topping and I must have done something wrong because it melted all over the top of the muffin tin pan. Should I not have melted the butter? I tried adding more flour and sugar, but it was just a sticky mess :-( Any ideas? DELICIOUS MUFFINS though! Thank you! (Found you through foodgawker)

  9. These sound and look great–I’m going to make them tomorrow (with buttermilk). I noticed there is no salt in the batter–is that a mistake? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers