food and family in salt lake city

Sticky Honey Lemon Chicken

You can get your moist towelettes out if you want to, but I’ll just stick to my finger-lickin’.

I’m a sucker for any grillin’ recipe that has the adjective “sticky” in it. I can’t help but get all excited to lick some sort of sticky grilled goodness off of my fingers. It’s pretty much like licking your plate clean after dessert, but you’d never catch me doing that ever. Don’t believe me huh? Well, your a smart one then.

This was sweet and tangy, but not in the barbecue sauce kind-a-way, in a sweet-as-honey  and tart-like-lemon kind a way. It was a tasty (and sticky) little grillin’ fix. It seems like we haven’t been grillin’ as much as I’d like this summer, but this sure did make me feel better about it.  Plus, I got to use up some of my lemon-thyme, which is in 2nd place in the race to take over my backyard (parsley is in 1st). Anyway that’s another story, what I want you to know is this Sticky Honey Lemon Chicken is finger-lickin’ good.

   

Sticky Honey Lemon Chicken

(adapted from Greedy Gourmet)

8 chicken drumsticks
3 tbsp. olive oil
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
1/3 cup honey
3 tbsp soy sauce
1 lemon, sliced
splash of red wine vinegar
2-3 sprigs lemon-thyme
salt & pepper to taste

Directions
In a large skillet, heat olive oil on medium-high, to that add the garlic and heat till fragrant, 1-2 minutes. Then add the honey and soy sauce and bring to a slight boil; add lemon slices and vinegar. Turn down heat and simmer for 3-5 minutes. Put entire lemon-thyme sprigs into sauce and continue simmering 5-10 more minutes.

While the sauce is simmering, hand the chicken to your husband so he can begin grilling it on med-high heat, turning every few minutes to cook through.

Now back to the sauce, turn off the heat and let sauce cool a bit. Taste test for salt and pepper additions. If sauce is too thick once it’s cooled, add a little hot water to thin it out. It should be a thick consistency to baste onto chicken & stay, but not so thick that it only sticks to your brush. Remove the lemon slices and lemon-thyme sprigs remnants.

Once your chicken is cooked through, turn down the heat and begin basting the honey-lemon sauce onto the chicken, turning the chicken as necessary to get all sides. Let the heat help adhere the sauce to the chicken for a few minutes. Transfer chicken to a platter, continue basting with leftover sauce and garnish with lemon-thyme. Enjoy with sticky fingers!

Note: I quadrupled this recipe and it worked great.

Comments on: "Sticky Honey Lemon Chicken" (6)

  1. Can’t wait to try this!

  2. I can vouch for these being good. I ate 3 the day she made them. It was hard to wait for her to take the pictures after smelling the sauce simmering :)

  3. Mhhh I hear you! Sticky grilled food is a must-do! Too bad that summer has been mean and wet so far where I live so it was only twice that I managed to heat up the grill. And also, all the moisture made my lemon thyme say ‘bu-bye’ so that I had to cut it all down and hope for the best. I managed to dry most of it, though.

    these look divine and defo on my list! Let’s see how they’ll turn out with dried thyme ;)

    Thank you for sharing,
    Tobias

  4. Oh, my… This is DEFINITELY Omnomnomnomnom-looking; must try ASAP!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers