food and family in salt lake city

When life gives you mounds of free produce, preserve it.

Here in Utah, there is so much to go around. I’ve got neighbors and friends giving and begging me to take their garden’s bounty off their hands, and I’m not one to say no.

I’ve been busy as a bee, canning spaghetti sauce, applesauce, apple butter, apple juice and grape juice, and I’m not done yet. My kitchen is proof. It’s been quite sticky and loaded down with dishes, but I think I can finally see the sink now.

I’ve been referring to a couple of sites for help on the preserving part, and using my taste buds for the recipe part. If you are looking to preserve some bounty for yourself, here are the websites I used to answer my questions:

Provident Living Today

Pick Your Own

Comments on: "Preserving Mother Nature’s Bounty" (3)

  1. Awesome!! I got 40lbs of Pears this week I need to can, and our neighbors grapes that are hanging over our fence. I want to make some grape juice to can, hopefully I’ll have enough.

  2. You go girl! I only get the urge to can once every few years. I did a little bit this year and I think I’m good for a few years again… 🙂

Leave a comment