food and family in salt lake city

Kitchen Bloopers

Seeing as how the a New Year is just around the corner, I figured I’d come clean with you all. Today I share a few of my kitchen bloopers.

1. Strawberry Shortcake cookies. My good friend Katie and I were baking these up and we were excited for the result, until we tried one of the freshly cut up strawberries. It tasted weird.  Weird and odd, almost like onions and garlic. We had used what we thought was a clean cutting board from the dishwasher, turns out the dishes weren’t clean. Tell me I’m not the only one this has happened to?! We cut up the strawberries and they took on the onion and garlic flavor that was on the cutting board prior to our use. Not every cookie tasted like onions and garlic, but you took a chance every time you tried one. FAIL!

2. Cumin Cauliflower. I have to admit, many recipes I try with cauliflower fail. My family just isn’t a fan, except for this find (click here for that recipe). This cumin cauliflower was way to salty and slightly burnt.

3. Grilled Corn basted with Lime dressing. It just didn’t work. I was trying to get creative. I pulled the corn husks back, basted the corn with Lime dressing, pulled the husks back on and grilled the corn to death. The corn didn’t taste like anything. It wasn’t gross, but it sure didn’t taste like lime grilled corn either.

4. These Almond Muffins with Fig Filling would have been lovely, if only I had remembered to add the baking powder. Oops. I’ll be trying these again next time I get more figs. They tasted wonderful even without rising, just a little dense. If you want to give them a try (perhaps, you’re not as forgetful) the recipe I used was from Epicurious.

5.This looks like a cookie, but in fact, it is actually a muffin. Gingerbread Muffins-failed on so many levels. Perhaps on my next attempt I’ll actually use a recipe. Hey, what can I say I like to “wing it” sometimes.

6. Chocolate Peppermint Snack (recipe from the back of the marshmallow bag), there was everything wrong with how this turned out. I had such high hopes too.

7. Although these look like yummy balls of cookie dough, they are actually already baked cookies. Let’s just call them Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Rock Cookies.

8. {Purple} Green Smoothie Pops. Tasted good, however sometimes I try all sorts of ways to photograph things and well, this is one unappetizing photo for a popsicle. Don’t ya think?

9. Orange Balsamic Vinaigrette. It was nasty, too bad to because I was really looking forward to this salad.

10. Kale Chips. I think these can be good if you don’t go overboard on the salt. Sheesh is that a lot of salt!

11. I take pictures of food anywhere I can get good lighting and an interesting background, which in the warmer months usually means outside. Here you can see my ginormous big toe. You can also see my driveway and the door of my garage (yes, it is a wood door). To see the final picture from this photo shoot, click here.

12. Whoops, how did this get in here? Isn’t she just the cutest in her piggie tails?!

Happy New Year! Here’s to hoping we all stay out of jail. :)

Comments on: "Kitchen Bloopers" (3)

  1. So funny! I loved this post. You are so creative and witty! My favorite was the Popsicle on the bed of spinach, yummy! Oh and I also love that cute cooking blunder in the pigtails. Thanks for warming up my cold Canadian holiday!

  2. This was so fun to read! I’ve had lots of flops in the kitchen, too, so it’s nice to read about somebody else failing every once in a while. Cute pictures! And I love the pigtails too :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers