food and family in salt lake city

Homemade Granola

I love me some hearty homemade granola.

I love to eat granola in a bowl with a splash of milk. I love to eat granola over creamy vanilla yogurt. I love to eat a handful when I’m making dinner. It gives me energy and lots of good healthy stuff. But most of all, I just really like the taste and texture of it. I like making my own so I can put all my favorites in, and leave out my not so favorites (raisins!). Plus, it’s pretty darn easy to make.

This recipe has been my standby for the last few years. I pretty much add whatever I have on hand or change it up according to my tastes that day. Recently, I even made a version of Cake Batter Granola by mixing about 3 spoonfuls of dried yellow cakemix into it before baking. I know this sounds weird, but I actually loved it and so did the kiddos.

Feel free to substitute with your favorites and get creative. Who knows what you’ll come up with! But, if it’s something amazing I want to hear about it! Heck, even if it’s not “amazing” I want to hear about!

  

Homemade Granola

Makes about 5 1/2 cups.

Ingredients
3 cups rolled old-fashioned oats
3/4 cup sunflower seeds, unsalted
1 cup shredded coconut, sweetened or unsweetened
1/2 cup or more chopped nuts or seeds*
1/2 cup or more of dried fruit, set aside*
1/4 cup brown sugar, not packed
dash of salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 cup honey
2 tablespoons canola or vegetable oil

*In the granola shown in these photos, I basically took a handful of goodies from a Costco brand Dried Fruit and Nut mix, which had craisins, dried cherries, almonds, and pistachios. I also threw in some pumpkin seeds.

Directions
Preheat oven to 300 degrees Farenheit.

In a large bowl, stir all the dry ingredients except the dried fruit. Next, add the honey and oil; stir till all ingredients have been moistened.

Spread mixture onto a rimmed baking sheet. Bake for 30-35 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes. It should be golden brown when it is down.

Let cool, and stir in dried fruit. Store in an airtight container.

Comments on: "Homemade Granola" (4)

  1. This granola looks beautiful!

  2. This looks and sounds delicious :)
    Im such a big fan of granola

  3. Looks fab! I have a goal this year (and so far so good) that I will eat NO processed foods. I will be making this! However I will use gluten free oats (I’m celiac), use coconut sugar (have a cane sugar sensitivity – not a bad thing!), and possibly reduce the honey a bit (I tend to like things a lot less sweet than most people (again not a bad thing!). Granola is the perfect snack food, will go nicely with my yogurt and fruit, and great for traveling to assure I can eat something! Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers