food and family in salt lake city

P-O-M-E-G-R-A-N-A-T-E

P-O-M-E-G-R-A-N-A-T-E!  Now it’s your turn to spell it. Not so easy is it?

First off, I just want to say: Where on earth have you been?! I’ve been worried sick! You could have at least left a note as to how long you’d be gone! Er, wait, that was me that’s been “gone” so long! Sorry ’bout that.

All I can say for myself is that life happens, and sometimes you have to cannonball right into it. While the blog, well the blog just has to stay behind sometimes, poor little blog. But I’m here now, because I am inspired to tell you that pomegranates are delicious, nutritious, and use to be a big red mess to eat, but not anymore!

Thanks to a new trick I’ve learned, we’ve been enjoying Pomegranates all fall. You see, once you get the seeds (also called arils) out of the pomegranate shell they are as easy as popcorn to eat. You just pop ‘em in and enjoy! My kids love them, and so do I.

So here’s how you do it.

Slice your ripe pomegranate into quarters; set aside.

Fill a medium size bowl about half way with luke warm or cool water. I like to keep the bowl in the sink while I’m doing this.

Place your pom quarters into the water. Keeping your handy-dandy little fingers and thumbs under the water, pop the arils into the bowl.

The seeds will sink, and the pulp will float to the top where you can scoop it out.

Drain and rinse the seeds; store the seeds in an airtight bag or bowl in the refrigerator and use at your convenience.

Snack on them right out of the bowl, throw them on a salad, put them in your oatmeal, or throw them in these yummy Gingerbread Waffles.

I learned this Pomegranate technique from Sheena at The Little Red House. Where she took some really beautiful pictures of this gorgeous fruit and this step by step technique.

Comments on: "P-O-M-E-G-R-A-N-A-T-E" (3)

  1. seriously?! That does make it easy! and unless you are peeling more than 1 pom at a time, I don’t think there should be any to store in the fridge….at least there never is when I’m eating one.

  2. I had no idea it was so easy. Does Oma know this trick? Wow, I going to purchase one tomorrow. I stayed away from them as they were so much work. Thanks for sharing.

  3. That’s how I do it too! Except when my mom used to just put me in a smock outside and give me a whole one. I think it was her way of keeping me busy and out of her hair because she knew I wasn’t going anywhere till it was all eaten. Or when my highschool boyfriend had a pomegranite orchard and we’d pick and eat them outside under the trees during Christmas break. Geez that sounds romantic now, I miss being young in California.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers