food and family in salt lake city

Pumpkin Muffins (No Oil)

Pumpkin MuffWhat do whole wheat, cinnamon, honey, and pumpkin all have in common? You guessed it! Muffins!

It wouldn’t be “Urban Strawberries” without a muffin post, would it?

I know fall is coming to an end, but we still love pumpkin and cinnamon all year-long. I’ve been making these muffins for a few years now. They are just a snack we haven’t grown tired of.

I really like that there is no oil in this recipe. I’ve alternated using applesauce or greek yogurt instead of oil, and both times loved it. I also switch up my sweeteners. If I use applesauce instead of greek yogurt, then I lessen the sugar or honey. Play around with it and see what your family likes.

Enjoy!

Pumpkin Muffins

Yields 24 smaller muffins or 18 larger muffins

Ingredients
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup sugar

1 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 cup applesauce or plain greek yogurt
1/2 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs

Directions
1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees farenheit.

2. Grease or line muffin tins.

3.In a large bowl, whisk dry ingredients together; set aside.

4. In medium bowl, combine wet ingredients.

5. Pour wet mixture over dry mixture, stir till just combined and moist.

6.Divide thick batter between muffin tins, filling 1/2 to 2/3rd full.

7. Bake 15-20 minutes for smaller muffins, or 20-25 for larger muffins. When a toothpick comes out clean, they are done.

Comments on: "Pumpkin Muffins (No Oil)" (3)

  1. Yum. I always have muffin cravings when I’m prego. I think some chocolate chips might sneak into mine…thanks for sharing this recipe!

  2. I think your blog should have been UrbanMuffins :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers