food and family in salt lake city

Fresh Strawberry Pie

Plate lickin’ good!

Thanks Sunflower Market for offering strawberries at only 88 cents a pound! I bought 6. Why not? There was no limit, and really if I had more time I would have done like the lady next to me and bought 3 cases.

What can’t you do with red delicious juicy strawberries? I really only had one thing in mind though. Fresh Strawberry Pie.

I have always wanted to make it, and every time I see one I want to eat it. I also happened to be making dinner for a neighbor that night. They were welcoming their third edition home that night, and I thought what a better way to celebrate the homecoming of a new little person than with a large strawberry filled pie?

I made 2, one for us and one for my neighbors. Despite pretty much making up the entire recipe it turned out wonderfully. In fact I believe the requests went like this, “Mom when we are done with this pie, can you make another pie just like this?!” Then they proceeded to lick their plates, and when James wasn’t looking, I did too. So welcome to the world little Emmie Sparrow. I hope you like your strawberry pie flavored milk!

Fresh Strawberry Pie

(adapted from Cooking Light through Above An Italian Restaurant)

Topping:

5 cups or more fresh strawberries, washed and stems removed
2/3 cup sugar
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1-2 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
Zest of 1 lemon

1. Prepare 1 pie crust. See Perfect Pie Crust recipe here. Bake pie crust till edges are just lightly browned. Bake time will vary depending on your pie crust recipe and oven. Stay close though so as not to burn that flaky baby.

2. To prepare topping combine all the strawberries, 2/3 cup sugar, and cornstarch in a bowl. Stir till sugar, lemon juice, and cornstarch begin to make a  medium thick sauce, add a little water if needed. Take 1/2 of this mixture and put into a blender and puree till smooth. Transfer the puree to a saucepan over medium heat; stir with a whisk. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Reduce heat to low; cook several minutes until puree is thick and saucy. Remove glaze from heat. Cool to room temperature, stirring occasionally.

5. Combine the remaining strawberries and juice; toss to coat. Arrange berries, bottoms up, in a circular pattern over filling. Spoon 3/4 of glaze evenly over berries (reserve remaining glaze for another use). Cover and chill 3 hours.

6. Definitely serve with fresh whipped cream.

Comments on: "Fresh Strawberry Pie" (4)

  1. I am thrilled to know James is not the only great writer in the family. Who is the great photographer? LOVE the pics!

    • Thanks Susan. I must admit, I do have my own personal editor here which really helps. I have also been dabbling in photography, but really only of food. 🙂

  2. Yummy pie but mine was definitely not so picture perfect as your’s. It the taste that matters though….right?

    • Yes, taste is what matters. If you’ll notice, I only had a picture of the whole pie because I just couldn’t get a slice to come out pretty-but it still tasted good. Glad you tried it.

Leave a Reply

