food and family in salt lake city

Chocolate Snickerdoodles

Chocolate Cinnamon goodness.

Growing up we didn’t have chocolate chips in the house, at least not that I was aware of. My parents had 6 children, and now being a mother myself, I just can’t believe that my mother didn’t have chocolate in the house. She must have hidden it, saving it for those desperate moments when only chocolate can save the day or your child’s life. Perhaps she hid it in the car, after all 6 kids can ransack an entire house looking for something and find just about anything…except for that missing sock of course.

So where did you hide your chocolate Mom?

Because we didn’t have chocolate chips growing up, I was forced to bake things other than chocolate chip cookies. So I learned the art of Snickerdoodles. Actually it’s not really an art, but I did do it a lot. I remember on Sunday afternoons my older siblings would beg me to bake something. Snickerdoodles were often the answer to our cravings. My eldest brother especially loved them, and still does. So when his wife called me last week to let me know she was throwing him a surprise party in honor of his new job, I knew exactly what to make, except this time with a twist: Chocolate Snickerdoodles.

Chocolate and cinnamon are two ingredients not often found in the same recipe, but when they are, it is always a pleasant twist on two very common flavors. They enhance and bring depth to each other.

The idea started when somebody at work broke a Snickerdoodle in half directly above a moist chocolate cookie. The cinnamon-sugar coating adhered itself to the chocolate cookie below. I took a taste and was then motivated to create my own. Thus my Chocolate Snickerdoodle was born.

I started with a rich chocolate cookie recipe and added cinnamon to the dough, rolled them into a cinnamon-sugar mix, and finished by sprinkling a bit more cinnamon-sugar on top once they came out of the oven. They were delicious, and even my eldest brother raved about how much he loved them. Go ahead and try them, then let me know what you think.

Chocolate Snickerdoodles

Ingredients
1 cup butter (or margarine), softened
3/4 cups white sugar
3/4 cups brown sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 cups flour
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
3/4 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 cup cinnamon-sugar mix (for rolling and sprinkling)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
2. In large bowl, beat butter, sugars, eggs, and vanilla until light and fluffy. Combine flour, cocoa, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt; stir into the butter mixture until well blended.
3. Make teaspoon size balls and roll into cinnamon-sugar mix until ball is completely covered; place on greased cookie sheet. If dough is sticky, work gently with it or let sit for a few minutes on the counter to firm up.
4. Bake 8-10 minutes. Once the cookies have baked through, take them out of the oven, and sprinkle a pinch of cinnamon-sugar onto each cookie. Let cool slightly on the cookie sheet before transforming to wire racks to cool completely.

Comments on: "Chocolate Snickerdoodles" (7)

  1. Ali Vigue said:

    Curse you, I was trying to cut back on sugar (as in, no more desserts, baby, since the babyfat isn’t coming off this time…). Now I’m gonna cave-this recipe looks TO DIE FOR good! I’ll let you know how badly it blows my efforts (as in, will I eat all the cookies before the kiddos even get to try one?).

    • Sorry Ali. I totally know what you mean about the “babyfat” though. Make a batch and take them to all your neighbors, and only keep a few for yourself (I know this is easier said than done).

  2. susy manninh said:

    Where did I leave the chocolate chips? Well, truth is, with 6 kids, money was tight, so when I did decide to make anything with chocolate, BOOM! It went RIGHT into the recipe, (and also I made one bag of chips for like a double batch of whatever…), and so no one really could find a “hiding place”, cuz there wasn’t any! AND the cookies were usually gone or inhaled right out of the oven…I sure do like the girls baking now though,mmmmm better bakers than I ever was!

  3. Ali Vigue said:

    I just finished making these (by “finished”, I mean I just pulled the 2nd pan out of the oven and have tasted it–just to be sure it’s good). HELLO!!! That is a killer-tasty cookie. My visiting teachees will LOVE you for this! Thanks!

  4. These cookies are fantastic. Ali shared some of them with us and they’re now Corey’s favorite. I made some tonight and they were really easy to make! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

