food and family in salt lake city

Vanilla Zucchini Muffins

I am heading out of town this week to meet an old friend. I am beyond excited to see him. We need to get reacquainted because it’s been far too long.

We’ve been friends since I was a child, but lately it seems his visits are rare and always too short. I am hoping he is good to me and grants me a tan, or even a sunburn. I’ll take what I can get right about now in this long Utah War between Winter and Spring. Sun, my friend, please be good to me on my trip to Arizona. I promise I’ll appreciate you.

In honor of leaving, I started to look through the produce drawers in the refrigerator to see what won’t make it while I am gone. I found one and a half zucchini, some ginger, celery, cilantro, carrots, and some other things I don’t care to mention. Don’t worry I didn’t use all of them in these muffins. I used up the zucchini for the muffins, and made Chicken and Peanut Curry with the rest (click here for recipe).

I often make muffins to throw at my hungry pack of wolves for snack time. I try to sneak veggies, fruits, nuts and any other healthy wholesome thing I can into them. I also substitute different ingredients to work with what I have in my cupboards. I did this with these muffins. I didn’t have any raisins (or Craisins, since I don’t really like raisins) or nuts. After all, I am cleaning out the kitchen before I leave for vacation, so this time I used coconut.

These muffins are sweet but not too sweet. You can still taste the flavors without an overpowering sugar overload.

By the way my son, Quinn, thinks these muffins go great with apple juice. After taking this picture, he spilled his apple juice all over my freshly mopped floor. No really, all over it, but the muffins were still good, despite my sticky floor.

 

Vanilla Zucchini Muffins

(Adapted from  Amandascookin.com)

2 eggs
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup coconut oil (I used canola oil)
1 tablespoon vanilla
2 cups shredded unpeeled drained zucchini
2 cups unbleached all purpose flour (I’ve used half wheat flour & it is still tastey)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup golden raisins (I used coconut this time, but have used Craisins before)
1/2 cup chopped pecans or other nuts (I omitted nuts this time)

Combine eggs, sugar, oil and vanilla. Stir in zucchini. Combine remaining dry ingredients, and if you are using raisins and nuts, set aside 1/4 cup dry mixture to toss with the raisins and nuts. Add zucchini mixture to remaining dry mixture and stir to blend. Fold in raisins and nuts. Place mixture 2/3 full into prepared muffin tins or cups. Bake in a 350 oven 20 to 25 minutes.

Makes about 14 muffins, or 56 mini muffins (bake for 14 minutes).

Comments on: "Vanilla Zucchini Muffins" (3)

  1. Loved the muffins! Thank you very much! I haven’t been in the mood to make zucchini bread but I’ve been wanting to use up some of the shredded zucchini we froze last fall after being overrun by them in our garden. This was perfect, a simple recipe that I will definitely use again!

Leave a Reply

