food and family in salt lake city

Refried Beans

Mmmmn.

Happy Mother’s Day! I am posting this recipe for refried beans because I want to give all you moms out there a gift. A gift of, “throw it in the Crockpot and forget about it till 5 minutes before dinner time.” This recipe is not only easy, yummy, and a favorite around my house, but it is also quite inexpensive to make. And I know we could all use a little of that right about now. Can I get an Amen?

Beans are so very underestimated. That’s right, beans. They are so delicious, and nutritious. Beans, beans the magical fruit the more you eat the more you…I’ll let you finish that one. (I had to say that because it rhymes and if you know my mother, she is the queen of rhyming-so that ones for you mom-Happy Mother’s Day!). Back to beans, they are protein packed and soft for those lacking in the teeth department like my daughter, Zoe, who at the age of 1 year still only has 1 tooth.

Beans have been a staple at the Gunter family gatherings for quite a few years. My husband’s family turned me into a Mexican food addict about 10 years ago. We eat it at almost every family gathering. In fact, it feels weird if we don’t eat Mexican food together. I usually do the beans, James cooks up the tortillas, his sisters cover the pulled pork and fresh homemade salsa, and my favorite mother-n-law (no really, she is my favorite I’m not just sucking up-Happy Mother’s Day to you too!) does the guacamole. Then we gorge on deliciousness, drink lots of water, and call it good.

These beans are pretty basic. You can add or substitute anyway you like. I’ve used them as a side dish or as a main entrée in bean burritos. I’ve used black beans instead of pinto beans. I’ve used bacon grease, butter, or oil. No matter what these beans always get eaten. Try it, love it, repeat.

Happy Mother’s Day to all you fabulous Mothers out there!

Refried Beans

3 cups pinto beans
9+ cups water
2 Tbsp. bacon grease (optional)
1/2 cup sour cream
1 cup grated cheese
1 tsp. salt

Rinse beans in water to wash off the dirt. Put the beans and the water in the Crockpot and turn it on high. Let it cook for about 8 hours. You may need to add a little water toward the end of the cooking time. When the beans are finished cooking, drain most of the juice out with a ladle by tilting the Crockpot to one side so that the juice flows toward your ladle.

Now here’s where you can officially “refry” the beans by melting bacon grease in a large frying pan and transferring the beans into the pan and mashing with a potato masher until smooth. Then stir in sour cream, cheese, and salt.

However, after years of making these I have found a shortcut. Here is what I do to reduce time and dirty dishes. I drain most of the juice out of the Crockpot, then I mash the beans with a potato masher right in the Crockpot till fairly smooth. Next, stir in the sour cream, cheese, and salt. I often omit the bacon grease because I don’t always want to put the fat in there. There you have it. Any questions? Let me know. If not, enjoy!

Comments on: "Refried Beans" (4)

  1. susy manninh said:

    And a Happy Mother’s Day right back at you, my little sweetheart, and thanks for the bean recipe, even tho it makes one f..t! Okay , I had to rhyme, one more time:).
    BUT, it IS really good, cuz I’ve eaten them when she made ’em, and honestly, and truly, gas is pretty much gone, so you can still eat and enjoy, with nothin’ goin’ on….if you get my drift….or wind…or ? Okay, I’m done!

  2. scott manning said:

    that looks delicious

  3. Stephanie said:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you too! I love those beans and eating mexican food with you.

Leave a Reply

