food and family in salt lake city

I made these mainly for my peanut butter addict, Quinn. He’s been getting creative with his peanut butter, so I figured I’d better try something new for his peanut butter obsession. He’s already gobbled up a few, so I guess that translates into his approval.

Peanut Butter toast with Kix cereal

Oddly, these muffins really do taste like the real thing (if you make yours with whole wheat bread). I was surprised when I tasted one. So why not just make a PBJ sandwich you ask? I asked the same thing, and decided these are good for a quick on-the-go wholesome snack.

You could pack them in the freezer, and pop one into the microwave for 30 seconds for a quick breakfast. They are almost like those Uncrustables you see in the freezer section at the grocery store, made totally for convience. That’s what I’m thinking for this summer. I need food I can grab and go because my kids, the zoo, and the water park can only wait so long.

PB&J (Hold the Crust) Muffins

(from The Frugal Foodie Cookbook by Alanna Kaufman and Alex Small)

2 1/4 cups whole-wheat flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup brown sugar
6 tablespoons butter substitute, melted and cooled (I used margarine)
1/2 cup reduced-fat crunchy peanut butter (I used regular crunchy PB)
2 eggs
1 cup skim milk (I used 1% milk)
1/3 cup jam or jelly (I’d use more per muffin, perhaps a Tbsp each)

Preheat oven to 375*F. Line 12 muffin cups with paper liners. In large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, and brown sugar. In medium bowl, combine butter substitute, peanut butter, eggs and milk; whisk together until smooth. Pour wet ingredients into dry mixture; stir into batter. Fill each tin halfway with batter, add heaping teaspoon of jelly (I’d use more here), and fill to top with more batter. Bake 17 minutes, or until knife comes out clean. Transfer to cooling racks for several minutes and serve warm.

Note: I actually liked these better the next day because I think the peanut butter flavor sunk in more over night.

Leave a Reply

