food and family in salt lake city

The other night I was in need of a brownie fix. I didn’t have any butter, a shame I know. I only allow myself so much, otherwise bad things happen, to my rear that is.

I stumbled across a recipe that used Olive Oil instead of butter and it intrigued me. I don’t often see olive oil in recipes for baked goods. So I thought I’d give it a try. I was wishing I had a Vanilla Olive Oil from the Queen Creek Olive Mill located just near my parents home in Arizona, but I only had the usual Extra Virgin Olive Oil. By the way, if you live near the Queen Creek Olive Mill you need to go and try out their fabulous food and olive oils. It is on my list to do every time I visit my parents.

These brownies turned out thick, fudgey, and rich, all the usuals that go with a good brownie. The difference I noticed was a hint of savory flavor from the olive oil. James really liked that, and to tell you the truth I am undecided. Do I want my brownies to be sweet and savory at the same time? I am still not sure. So I want to know your opinion. Try them out and let me know. Thanks.

Olive Oil and Cocoa Brownies

(from Family Style Food)

  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder (I used Ghirardelli unsweetened cocoa powder)
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup cacao nibs (optional, I opted out and used sliced almonds instead)

Heat oven to 350 degrees for at least 25 minutes.

Coat an 8-inch square baking dish (glass or porcelain) with olive oil. Cut a piece of parchment to fit just the bottom of the dish and oil that too.

Put the eggs in the bowl of a heavy-duty mixer and beat on low for a minute. Increase speed to medium high while adding the sugar 1/2 cup at time. Beat until the eggs are pale, thick and creamy.

Decrease mixer speed and slowly add the oil in a thin stream, as if you were making an emulsion like mayonnaise. Add the vanilla extract.

Sift together the flour, cocoa and salt into a bowl. Stir into the egg mixture until just incorporated, scraping down the bowl as needed.

Scrape the batter into the prepared baking dish and sprinkle the cacao nibs over the top, if using.

Bake 25-30 minutes (I baked them an extra 5 minutes), or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the brownies emerges with some moist crumbs.

Cool the pan completely on a rack before cutting into serving pieces.

Makes one 8-inch pan of brownies.

Comments on: "Olive Oil and Cocoa Brownies" (1)

  1. […] Read the original: Olive Oil and Cocoa Brownies « urban strawberries […]

Leave a Reply

