food and family in salt lake city

Molasses Crinkles

My sob story continues this week, as I was laid off after 4 loyal years of ups and downs. I have mixed feelings about it really. I was happy and sad to go all at the same time. Tonight I took comfort in my Grandma Pratt’s Molasses Crinkles. For whatever reason they make me feel a little better.

A door has been closed and another opened, and who knows what opportunities lay ahead.  I came across a friend’s 100th blogpost this morning and it was meant for me. With a bright and calming photo and quote, it’s worth a looksy (click here).

Molasses Crinkles

Cream:
3/4 cup butter
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1/4 cup molasses

Sift:
2 1/2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cloves

Note: You’ll need 1/2 cup granulated sugar for rolling dough balls into.

Preheat oven to 375*F. Combine the sifted dry ingredients into the bowl of creamed ingredients and mix together. Roll dough into small balls. Roll into granulated sugar until the ball is completely covered with sugar. Place on greased baking sheet about 2 inches apart. Bake 8-9 minutes. Let cool a few minutes on baking sheet, transfer to a cooling rack.

Comments on: "Molasses Crinkles" (7)

  1. susy manninh said:

    Amen, and amen, Honey. These cookies do it all for me too! mmmmmm. Yep, own the day, enjoy it, and give it back at the end to the Creator. Get ready for rest, and a new dawn. Love you, Mom

  2. Ali Vigue said:

    Dude, I’m so sorry. Your thoughts on the matter, however, and great and very centered…but I guess you’ve always come across to me as someone who has a very balanced and peaceful perspective.
    Thanks for sharing this recipe. I find myself in need of some delicious cookies, and these are most certainly in the running (I’m also considering those brown butter chocolate chip ones…). Good luck and much love!

  3. Leesh, the quote you liked so much has been one of my favorites from Ralph Waldo Emerson. I’ve used it in the morning devotionals we have at the Employment Center and it applies to almost anything we encounter in life. Good words of advice. Hang in there…Meemz

  4. 1. I’m so sorry to hear about your job. That’s really hard. 😦
    2. Thanks for the link! I’m glad you like the photo and quote. That quote is one of my favorites.
    3. Those cookies look so amazing. I keep trying to lick my computer monitor. My coworkers think I’ve lost my mind, but if I send them the link they will lick their screens, too.

Leave a Reply

