food and family in salt lake city

Banana Muffins

I’ve been getting some weird bananas from the food co-op lately. At first, they are super green and stay that way for a week, then suddenly overnight they turn brown. They haven’t been good for eating fresh at all. This is a chance you take when using a food co-op. You don’t always know the varieties you will be getting, and you don’t pick out your own produce. You get what you get, and you don’t throw a fit. It’s mostly good most of the time, but there are those off chances when you get something odd, like these bananas.

I had a few of these black bananas staring me right in the face. Scared, I almost threw them into the compost bin, but decided against it. Instead, I whipped up these banana muffins for breakfast.

These are my go to banana muffins. They turn out beautifully every time. Unlike other recipes, this one calls for 3 ripe bananas instead of 2 which I think makes a difference.

Banana Muffins

(From the cookbook, Cookies)

Makes 12
8 ounces/2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon grated nutmeg (I just used ground)
3 large ripe bananas
1 egg
2 ounces/ 1/4 cup soft dark brown sugar
2 fluid ounces/ 1/4 cup vegetable oil (I used canola)
1 1/2 ounces/ 1/3 cup raisins (Here’s where I substitute with whatever I have on hand, this time it was sliced almonds)

1 Preheat the oven to 375*F/Gas 5. Grease 12 muffin pans, or use paper liners.

2  Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. Set aside.

3 With an electric mixer, mash the peeled bananas at the medium speed.

4 Beat the egg, sugar and oil into the mashed bananas.

5 Add the dry ingredients and beat in gradually, on low speed. Mix until just blended. With a wooden spoon, stir in the raisins until just combined. Spoon the mixture into the muffin pans, filling them two-thirds full.

6 Bake for 20-25 minutes (17 minutes is what works for my oven), until tops spring back when touched lightly with your finger. Transfer the muffins to a wire rack to cool completely before serving.

Comments on: "Banana Muffins" (3)

  1. I have that happen a lot with bananas — a quick transition from green to black. I make a lot of banana recipes. This looks like a good one to try.

  2. I hear you on the weird bananas. These were very yummy…thanks!

  3. I tried these last night! However, my husband requested chocolate chips instead of raisins and they were SO good! Completely different taste from when they were warm to when they were completely cool. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

