food and family in salt lake city

Hearty. Healthy. Delicious.

My kid’s have been begging for waffles. Waffles take time though, and I haven’t had any of that till now. With school out, and my husband running his guts out in a half marathon, I finally responded to their ever growing requests. I made them their waffles.

Then I smothered them with butter, glazed blackberries and almonds. Do I feel guilty about this? Not in the least. James finished his half marathon before the kids even woke up at 8 am for their waffles.

I wanted to be a good wife and cheer him on, but when you have to get up at 4 in the morning with three kids in tow, you think twice about the cheerleading thing. He knew I was cheering for him, and instead of shaking the cowbell at the finish line, I made him an extra yummy recovery dinner that night (click here for that recipe). Oh, and by the way he is already training for this (click here) in October .

 Whole-Wheat Peanut Butter Waffles

(from Michael White through Cookie Magazine)

2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
2 eggs, beaten
2 1/4 cups whole milk (I’ve used 1%)
1/4 cup vegetable oil (I used canola)
1/4 teaspoon salt

Cooking spray or melted butter

1.In a bowl of an electric mixer, on medium speed, mix all ingredients till combined.

2.Preheat a waffle iron. When it is hot, spray its surface lightly with the cooking spray or brush it with butter.

3.Fill a medium-size ladle with batter and pour it onto the waffle iron. Cook until the waffle is golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean, approximately 3 to 5 minutes. Serve hot with maple syrup and butter or fresh berries.

Serves 6 to 8 servings

Comments on: "Whole-Wheat Peanut Butter Waffles" (1)

  1. Looks healthy & delicious!

Leave a Reply

