food and family in salt lake city

In my house, dinner time can be a battle zone. It starts a little before 5 o’clock with small whimpering and whining then quickly turns into anger and tears. I’ll admit, it’s not always the kids; I can get a little irritable when I’m hungry too—okay, maybe more than a little.

Now it sounds like my family is starving, as if I don’t give them snacks or enough food. But I feed them I tell you, I feed them endlessly. All I do is feed them all day long. In fact, I am amazed at their little bodies, and how much they can eat for the small beings they are.

My goal for dinner time is to eat a healthy meal together as a family. Now, in order to do this, they must actually be hungry, which is why I can’t just give them snacks at 5 o’clock. This is where my battle begins each and every day.

Tonight was no different, there was whining and begging like usual before dinner. But what was different, was the silence that commenced when dinner was served. That’s right, silence; a luxury to a mother’s ears. I pulled out my secret weapon, a mother’s secret weapon…Breakfast for Dinner.

Breakfast for dinner has long been a favorite of mine and my children. I’m not sure why, but it’s always a hit. Tonight was no different. I made Whole Wheat Pancakes, which is highly favored by my eldest son, Xavier (click here). Now don’t be thrown off by the recipe title. Yes, it is whole wheat, and yes, it is healthy, but it doesn’t mean it tastes bad. In fact, I was quite pleasantly surprised almost a year ago when I first tried out this recipe. Not only are they healthy, but super flavorful. They have hints of lemon and cinnamon throughout, and surprisingly don’t feel as heavy as you’d think whole wheat pancakes would. So don’t be afraid; try them for dinner tonight. Or I guess you could have them for breakfast in the morning too.

P.S. Enjoy the silence!

Whole Wheat Pancakes

(adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod)

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup buttermilk, plus 2 Tablespoons (I use 1 cup 1% milk +1 Tbsp. lemon juice)
1 tablespoon canola oil
2 egg whites (I use the whole egg)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice (I like lemon, so I add a little more juice and zest)

Directions:

1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together buttermilk, canola oil, egg whites,vanilla extract, lemon zest, and lemon juice.

3. Pour wet ingredients over the dry ingredients. Stir gently with a spatula until combined. Don’t over mix. The batter will be thick.

4. Heat a griddle pan or non stick skillet over medium heat. Spray with cooking spray. Pour about  1/4 of  a cup of pancake batter onto the hot griddle pan, spacing out the pancakes a few inches from each other. When the pancakes start to bubble up, flip and cook until pancakes are lightly browned.

Serves 4  (I usually double this recipe to feed my family of 5)

Leave a Reply

