food and family in salt lake city

Granola Bars

 These Granola Bars are Rice Krispy Treat knock-offs, using hearty granola instead of rice cereal.

I wish I could tell you I made the granola from scratch. I wish I could tell you these are sugar free, and the more you eat the more pounds you lose. But I can’t.

I can tell you that these were super easy and quick (but not quick enough to catch this one getting into trouble). I can tell you they taste better than the regular Rice Krispy Treats, and that my kids are smarter for eating them. So smart in fact, that Xavier totally called me out by saying, “Mom, these are just like Rice Krispy Treats except with granola in them.”

Granola Bars

(adapted from Kellogs)

Ingredients
3 tablespoons butter or margarine
4 cups miniature marshmallows
6 cups granola
2/3 cup chocolate chips (optional)

Directions
1. In large saucepan melt butter over low heat. Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat.

2. Add granola. Stir until well coated. If using chocolate chips, let mixture cool slightly and stir in.

3. Using buttered spatula or wax paper evenly press mixture into 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan coated with cooking spray. Cool. Cut into 2-inch squares. Best if served the same day.

Comments on: "Granola Bars" (1)

  1. Been awhile since I commented. Your blog makes my mouth drool, and as soon as I stop surviving, I am going to start cooking, Leesh style. Thanks for your blog, and Zoe is really the cutest little toilet paper monster!

Leave a Reply

