food and family in salt lake city

Fudgesicles {with Honey}

When I was a kid I could eat fudgesicle after fudgesicle non-stop. This is probably the reason we didn’t get them very often. I would devour as many as I could before anyone else. Mind you, there were five other kids to share with (er rather, duke it out with) to get one…or three.

These ones don’t have a funny joke written on the stick when your finished eating, but I suppose you could use a Sharpie and write one on. Although, it may get a little old after a while if you are using reusable molds like me. None the less, these are cold, yummy, and a bit of a healthier version than the store-bought kind. No processed sugar, just mother nature’s pure goodness, honey.

We had mixed reviews at our house about these. This one liked it…a lot. This one did not. And this one, I’m still not sure she actually tasted it, but I think she liked it. Let me know how they do in your house.

Enjoy a few on a sizzlin’ day soon!

  

Fudgesicles {with Honey}

(from Honey.com)

Makes 6 servings

2 cups milk
1/3 cup honey
3 Tablespoons cocoa powder
2 Tablespoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon butter or margarine

Combine all ingredients in saucepan. Cook and stir over low heat on stove until little bubbles appear and mixture thickens. Cool slightly and pour into molds. Freeze 2 to 4 hours or until firm. Store in freezer.

Comments on: "Fudgesicles {with Honey}" (9)

  1. Loretta Chase said:

    I can’t wait to try these! Wonder if it will work with almond milk, or rather if the kids will taste it. I’ll let you know. Beautiful blog, by the way.

  2. Ooh, these look yummy. Can’t wait to try them. Are those actually the ones you made or a stock photo? Do you have a suggestion what mold to use or where to purchase a mold? THanks girl. Love and miss you!!!

    • Alysa, these are actually the ones I made. I take all my own photos of the food I make, unless otherwise marked. I bought these rocket pop molds last year at Sur La Table. You could find them at any cooking store like Sur La Table or Williams Sonoma for about $12. You could also use basic ones from Target or Walmart too. Happy eating! Miss you too.

  3. Loretta Chase said:

    These were a hit! It didn’t hurt that everyone was starving when we pulled them out of the freezer. I used fresh almond milk, and instead of butter, I used extra light olive oil and a little salt (using what was on hand). We added some orange flavoring just for fun, which was OK. We doubled the recipe without any problems, although I’m sure they would have tasted better if they were shaped like rocket ships. I mean, what wouldn’t.

  4. seriously this is one of your best pictures yet!

  5. […] Remember those classic fudgesicles you used to eat in the summer heat? Try making them with honey! […]

  6. so yummy looking!! Is the honey taste very present? I’m not big on honey, but they look oh so good!

Leave a Reply

