food and family in salt lake city

{Purple} Green Smoothie

Well, it started out green.

Every time I make one of these I add whatever fruits I have on hand, and this time it happened to be frozen blackberries. Thus, turning my Green Smoothie into a Purple Green Smoothie. Either way, it’s a tasty little number to be added into any diet, and the kids have no idea how healthy they are. Although, since they are green at times, Xavier will steer clear, and Quinn will gladly take his brother’s helping. Even Zoe enjoys her smoothies, especially as facials.

I don’t really have an exact recipe. I just kind of wing it with what I have on hand, adjusting as I go. I also make a whole pitcher full since there are five of us, so scale back where needed.

  

{Purple} Green Smoothie

2 cups of crushed ice
1 1/2 cups spinach
2 bananas
1 1/2 cups frozen blackberries
1/2 to 3/4 cup milk, depending how thick you want it
splash of vanilla

Throw all the ingredients in a blender. Put the lid on (important step). Blend to desired thickness and texture, adding milk if necessary. Enjoy!

If you have extra, freeze in a popsicle mold for a smooth pop later, or freeze in an ice cube tray and use in your next smoothie.

  

Leave a Reply

