food and family in salt lake city

Spiced Carrot Muffins

Spiced Carrot Muffins. Like the cake, but healthier because (sadly for my children) there is no frosting involved.

These were almost a disaster because of the oil, or the lack there of. As I mixed my final batter (so I thought), I looked over my shoulder to see a full bottle of canola oil sitting there. Hmmn. I thought, I know I put the oil in, but that brand new bottle is still, well, brand new and unopened. Oops. Glad I saw it, or these definitely would have gone on the “Fails” post.

I think they went a little flat because I had to mix vigorously to combine the oil into the rest of the already combined ingredients.

Here’s a tip on muffin making (if you don’t already know), you never want to over mix the batter. You want to stir just enough to combine the ingredients, and no more.¬†There you have it, my tip for the day (if only I had one for every day).

Spiced Carrot Muffins

(from Muffins by Williams-Sonoma)

4 eggs
1 cup canola oil
2 cups sugar
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 allspice
3 or 4 large carrots or 12 oz total weight, peeled and shredded
1 1/2 cups walnuts, pecans or hazelnuts (I used almonds, and only about a cup)

Preheat oven to 350*F. Grease 24 muffin cups.

In a large bowl combine eggs, oil and sugar. Using a whisk or electric beater, vigorously beat until smooth and slightly thickened, one full minute.

In another large bowl stir together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and allspice. Add to the egg mixture, and with a whisk or electric mixer on low speed, mix til smooth. Using a large spatula, fold in carrots and nuts, about 20 strokes. Then scrape down sides and stir again.

Spoon batter into muffin cups, filling no more than three-fourths full.

Bake until golden, dry and springy to touch, about 20-25 minutes. A toothpick inserted into the middle should come out clean. Transfer to a wire rack  and let cool 5 minutes and then unmold muffins. Serve warm or cold. Makes 24 muffins.

Leave a Reply

