food and family in salt lake city

These rolls have been served at every Thanksgiving my entire life, whether I was there or not, they were served and devoured.

I have very fond memories of baking these delicious rolls with my mother. We usually made them very late on the eve of Thanksgiving. Now that I think of it, I’m not sure it was all that late, but for my young self it felt like it. I remember my eyelids feeling as though someone had placed a weight on each one.

However tired I was though, knowing I’d be getting a warm fresh roll straight from the oven gave me the energy I needed to stay up with my also exhausted mother. She worked hard, just as she always has in life, getting everything readied for our grand feast.

Along with quadrupling the roll recipe (I think even more than that), she would also prepare a dozen pumpkin pies or so. We had a lot of family to feed you see, and we almost always brought the pies and rolls. And of course, we needed some extra rolls and pies to stash at home to eat with our leftovers. Rolls and pies always go first, don’t you agree?

I’ve even been known to make up a batch of these to send off with my brothers who wouldn’t be around for the holiday, or just secretly making them for myself even if I wasn’t in charge of rolls for that year.

My boys already love and hoard these rolls, but I am still in the process of teaching my daughter to wait until they are baked, as she is more interested in eating the dough….or just the butter as I discovered when I turned around to this. I guess she might be a little like her mother.

 

When I think of my childhood Thanksgivings or ask any of my five siblings about them, I’m pretty sure we are all thinking the same thing, er rather possibly drooling over the same thought of warm comforting Butterhorn Rolls, a childhood favorite.

  

  

Susy’s Butterhorn Rolls

(From My Most Kind and Beautiful Mother, Susy)

*Makes about 2 1/2 dozen

Ingredients
1 cup scalded milk (barely boiled)
1/2 cup shortening
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp salt
1 pkg. yeast
3 beaten eggs
4 1/2 cups flour (plus more for rolling)

2 sticks Butter, melted

Directions
Stir together the hot milk, sugar, shortening, and salt. Let mixture cool to luke warm; add yeast, stirring well to dissolve. Add eggs and stir; next add flour. Mix to a smooth soft dough (not sticky). If it’s too sticky, add more flour. Knead the dough a little and place the dough in a greased bowl and then flip it so all sides have been greased; cover and let rise in a warm spot till dough doubles in size (1-2 hours).

Once dough has doubled, divide it into thirds. Roll dough into a circle, and brush with melted butter. With a pizza cutter, cut the circle into about 10 wedges or triangles, depending on how big or small you want them. Next, roll each triangle from wide end to it’s point, slightly tuck the point of the triangle under the bottom of the roll; place it on a lined or greased baking sheet. Brush with melted butter once more, and cover to let rise for another 30-50 minutes.

Bake at 400 Degrees F* for 6-10 minutes depending on the size of your rolls. Watch closely with the first batch so you’ll know about how much time for the next batch. They should be slightly browned on the edges. Gobble them up hot from the oven, or let cool and store in an airtight container or ziplock bag.

Comments on: "Butterhorn Rolls {A Family Tradition}" (5)

  1. These sound great! I don’t even think I’ll wait until Thanksgiving to make them.

  2. You said you made them the night before. Did you reheat them for Thanksgiving dinner or what???

Leave a Reply

