food and family in salt lake city

Eight years ago I met my Xavier.

How has the time gone by so quickly?! We hear and say that question all the time, but really how has it happened?!

   

I once held you in my arms and cuddled you so. You were so tiny and fragile with such deep strong lungs. I gawked at every new thing you did from cooing and giggling to now drawing and reading so well. You will even read this post that I am writing about you.

I became a Mama when you were born. You were my first, you were my trainer. You broke me in for your siblings. We spent our days and nights together, just you and me and your dad—such a special treat.

   

You will no doubt pass me up in a few years, but you don’t care for now. You still want to sit in my lap at circle time in school. You still give me hugs and kisses, a little more awkwardly now that you’ve grown. You quit holding my hand a year or two ago and made me want to cry, but sometimes I still sneak it in when you are distracted.

   

You usually have your nose in a book, but you’ll come out when I need you. You build legos like an architect, and I hope you’ll build my retirement houme someday (and maybe it can have a kitchen counter made of legos like the one we saw). You have grown so much, but I still see that same little face looking up at me, asking for his “deedee” blanky. I tell you all the time to stop growing, but I really love who you are growing up to be. So keep it up buddy ’cause you’re doing an awesome job. I love you.

   

For his party, Xavier requested a “Chocolate Star Wars Lego Cake”. He gave me the Lego toys to put on top. He also wanted a Nicklecade party where he could play as many video games as possible. Such an easy kid to please.

   

Chocolate Cinnamon Buttercream

(adapted from the back of Ghirardelli’s Unsweetened Cocoa Canister)

Ingredients
1 stick butter
3 cups powdered sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/3 cup + 2 tbsp milk
1/2 tsp vanilla paste (or extract)
Directions
In a large mixing bowl, cream butter until fluffy. In another bowl, whisk sugar, cocoa and cinnamon until blended. Blend sugar mixture with butter alternately with milk, beating well after each addition. Beat until smooth. Blend in vanilla. Will frost the tops and sides of two 9″ layers.

Comments on: "Chocolate Cinnamon Buttercream {And the Day I Became a Mom}" (2)

  1. This gave me a glimpse into my future and made me kinda tear up. I can’t even imagine what I’ll be feeling when Sammy turns eight.
    Beautiful post! Happy Birthday Xavier!

  2. Wow it’s so fun to see pictures of Xavier small! I can pick out the one with him at the age he was when I met him first (against the barn wood)and the cake looks so cute…I think I recognize those sprinkles 🙂

Leave a Reply

