food and family in salt lake city

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

A little taste of what’s to come.

I have a walking buddy who really loves pumpkin pie. She also really hates the snow. As the month of November brings both of these, I thought I’d try out a warmer healthier version just for her. This one’s for you Rachel! Enjoy.

It turned out really yummy (and healthy), cozy and perfect for a crisp fall (snow covered) morning. Zoe and I gobbled it up…just like a turkey. Gobble, gobble. Can you tell I have Thanksgiving on the brain?

  

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

(adapted from The Compulsive Culinaire)

Makes 2 servings

Ingredients
1 cup rolled oats
2 cups of water
1/2 pumpkin puree
1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp vanilla
2 Tbsp. brown sugar

Maple Syrup to taste (optional)
Pecans (optional)

Directions
In a medium saucepan bring water to a full boil. Stir in rolled oats, and return to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer and let cook 1 minute. Stir in pumpkin puree, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, vanilla, and brown sugar. Let simmer until desired consistency. Spoon into a bowl and garnish with pecans and drizzle with maple syrup. Enjoy a good start to your fantastic day!

Comments on: "Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal" (3)

  1. This sounds amazing. Do you know what I can do to make it in the crock-pot? I would really like to have a morning where they kids can have a nice warm breakfast but I don’t have to wake up early to make. Thoughts?

    You, my dear, are amazing!

    • Alysa-to make this in the crockpot, you’d need to use steel-cut oats instead of rolled oats and increase the water (4 cups H2O for 1 cup steel-cut oats). I have never tried it but intend to. I’ve heard you can try it with rolled oats but it comes out more mushy and soupy. Steel cut oats are less processed and are heartier, so can put up with a night in the crockpot. Let me know if you try it out.

Leave a Reply

