food and family in salt lake city

Cinnamon Squash Bread

Flirting for squash, and getting your kids to try it (the squash that is, not the flirting).

I realized recently that my children have become very good at trying new foods, even if it’s just a bite. I had forgotten how my oldest used to refuse all things green.

How sometimes they would look at their plates and immediately begin throwing fits (or food) just to get out of eating. Sometimes they’d even trick me into thinking they’d actually eaten, when upon removing them from their food-ladened highchair I’d find that no, no they hadn’t eaten. But yes, they had touched their food, just enough to smash it down in between all the cracks and crevices of their awful no good highchair seat. I HATE highchairs, they are disgusting and awful to keep clean, but that’s another story.

 

Today’s story has to do with my kitchen and living room being overrun with squash, all kinds; spaghetti squash, butternut, buttercup, turban squash, even pumpkin. Apparently, someone (not me!) had been flirting with the local farmstand boy, and was given boxes and boxes of squash. Supposedly, the farmstand was “closing for the winter” according to my source, but I think the amazingly long beautiful blonde hair may have been more of the reason she was given so much.

Non-the-less, I had squash, a lot of it. You can roast it with olive oil, you can make soup with it, you can puree the stuff and hide it in homemade mac-n-cheese, but after that I’m stumped. I still had squash coming out my ears! So when I ran across this recipe I was a bit overwhelmed with stupidity. Why on earth hadn’t I thought of this myself?! Sometimes I am just stuck in the box.

So I made it, and we loved it. So I made it again, and we still loved it.

The kids loved it with every different kind of squash I used. I realized then, that my children are maturing, growing, and becoming little miniature Foodies. I couldn’t be more proud.

In the future, I have hopes to decrease the sugar, throw in some whole wheat flour and possible turn these into muffins, but for now I just made them as is, swapping out for different kinds of pureed squashes. Spaghetti squash, buttercup, and turban squash all turned out perfectly moist and delicious every time.

   

Cinnamon Squash Bread

(from an “out of the box” kinda girl at Twizzling Whimsies)

*Makes 2 loaves

Ingredients
1 cup oil
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
3 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups pureed squash, any variety (see below)

3 cups flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
3 tsp cinnamon

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees Farenheit. Grease two loaf pans.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the oil, sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Stir in the squash.

Stir the dry ingredients into the sugar mixture, just until incorporated.

Divide the thick batter between the two loaf pans, smooth out the surface a bit.

Bake for 45-50 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.

Let cool 20 or so minutes, remove from pan.

Slice and serve warm or at room temperature.

How To Make Squash Puree:
Preheat oven to 375*F

Cut squash in half lengthwise and scrape out seeds and guts.

Place on a baking sheet lined with foil (for easy clean up).

Bake squash for 45-60 minutes depending on the size of your squash. Use a fork to test the softness of the squash. Once a fork pierces is easily they are done.

Remove from oven, and let cool until you can hand it with your hands. Scrape out the meat of the squash or peel off the skin, whatever is easiest for you.

To puree the squash, us a stick blender or a food processor or even a blender. Blend until the consistency is smooth.

Comments on: "Cinnamon Squash Bread" (6)

  1. Thank you! I know squash is good for us, but I don’t like it, neither does hubs, so the kids have never even tried it. We love bread though, so I’m going to give this one a try!

  2. Hahaa your children are adorable. Ive never had squash in bread but this looks so good!

  3. Ha ha ha ha ha ha. The bread you brought by my house was worth that flirting 🙂

  4. Yay! I’m glad you tried the recipe and it worked. You’re photos are so much better than mine. Thanks for the shout-out 🙂 Here’s to thinking creatively about squash! (I still haven’t used to butternuts sitting on my counter).

  5. This was delicious!!! I made it with spaghetti squash and followed your lead by cutting the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups and used half whole wheat flour, it was great! We(mostly me) ate the first loaf within hours and it took a lot of will power to resist the second. Thank you! Thank you!

  6. This sounds so healthy and flavorful. Great way to get more veggies into the day. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your bread up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2012/01/sweets-for-saturday-54.html.

Leave a Reply

