food and family in salt lake city

Put a lime in a coconut and mix it all up. Add blueberries, and you’ll get one delightful muffin!

Yes, more coconut and more muffins. What can I say? I like them both, a lot.

Actually, I had set out to make Lemon Blueberry Muffins, but when I peeked into the refrigerator all I could find were limes. I was momentarily depressed, until I saw the fresh coconut leftover from making Coconut Milk.

At first, the blueberry-lime combination didn’t sound so good to me, until I saw the coconut. Then I got excited.

Blueberries? Lime? Coconut? Light bulb!

I quickly whipped them up and had to restrain myself from eating the batter by the spoonful. “Ewww, muffin batter?!” you might say. Yes, it was that good.

This was a new flavor combination for me and now a new favorite. Let me know what you think.

(PS-I am now on Facebook and Pinterest!)

   

Blueberry Lime Coconut Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

Ingredients
2 eggs
1/4 cup butter, melted & cooled
1/4 cup milk
1/2 cup sour cream
2 teaspoons lime zest (about 1 lime)

1 1/4 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoons of baking powder
pinch of salt

1/2 cup diced coconut (shredded coconut can be substituted)
1 cup fresh blueberries

1/4 cup shredded coconut, for tops of muffins

Directions
Preheat oven to 400 degrees farenheit, and grease or line 12 muffin cups.

In a large bowl, whisk eggs until blended. Add butter, milk, sour cream, and lime zest; stir until combined.

Next, stir together dry ingredients, and slowly add to wet ingredients; stirring just until the flour mixture is moist, but not smooth.

Gently fold in 1/2 cup of diced coconut and the blueberries.

Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups. Sprinkle the last 1/4 cup of shredded coconut on top of each muffin.

Bake for 20 minutes. Let cool for 5 minutes until removing to a cooling rack.

Comments on: "Blueberry Lime Coconut Muffins" (3)

  1. Just made some with lemon (wish I had lime) for after-school snacks. They are going to be so happy! Thanks for sharing such awesome recipes.

  2. Wow these look so good! And I absolutely love your photography, I’m trying to improve mine at the moment 🙂 and I always eat the muffin batter too, I’m surprised I ever actually have some left to bake! 😀

Leave a Reply

