food and family in salt lake city

Ok. These are tasty and you’re going to love them, but first a confession…

I must confess that this post will most likely end up on my “fails” post at the end of the year. Not because they taste bad, but because I realized green sprinkles do not make them look as appetizing as they really are.

I was going for a “Happy Saint Patrick’s Day” post for you all, and ended up with a yucky looking (but yummy tasting) picture of green blobs. I tried to save them by stenciling shamrocks on them. Not sure it really helped. What do you think?

Oh well, I guess we can’t all be perfect. Psst…I’m not perfect at all, and I’m ok with that. In fact, I tell my kids that “mistakes are proof that we’re learning.”  I guess I am getting in some good learning this week.

Anyway, here is the recipe and I don’t recommend using green sprinkles. Enjoy, and Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

  

Cake Batter Rice Crispies

(from Gimme Some Oven)

Ingredients
3 Tablespoons margarine or butter
1 (10 oz) bag of mini-marshmallows
1/3 cup yellow cake mix powder (straight from the cake mix box)
6 cups rice crispy cereal
1 (1.75 oz) container of sprinkles (not green sanding sugar sprinkles!), divided

Directions
Prepare a 9×13 pan by spraying it with a non-stick spray. In a large pot on low heat, melt butter completely; stir in marshmallows. Once marshmallows have mostly melted, begin stirring in cake mix a spoonful at a time. Next pour cereal in, stir until coated with melted marshmallow. Pour in half the sprinkles and stir; press mixture into prepared pan. Sprinkle the rest of the sprinkles over top and let sit for about 20 minutes til set.

Leave a comment