food and family in salt lake city

Baking sweet sunshine into life, and journaling about it along the way.


Years ago, I thought it would be fun to start journaling on my recipes. “Journaling”  meaning I write little tidbits about when, where and why I am making a recipe. I write on my printed recipes, and yes, my cookbooks too (sometimes on the ones I borrow-oops). I write the date and city we live in. If it’s for a special occasion, I’ll write that too. I jot down notes about who liked it and who didn’t. I mark changes in the recipe for any of the ingredients I used or omitted.

Generally, it’s not super exciting reading through a blurb on the top of a recipe, but sometimes I do find little spurts of a memory that make me smile, laugh or tear up. Once I found a recipe for a baked good, Peanut Butter Pumpkin Bread I think it was, and on the top  of the recipe I had written it was my first real baking that I had allowed myself to do since being pregnant with Zoe (I was trying not to gain the 60 pounds I did with the other two!). Among other recipes, were simple but sweet memories of birthdays, family gatherings and tiny little helping hands that have now grown much to big for my liking.

This week I happened to come across a recipe with this note scribbled on top, “3/8/11 SLC, UT  -So delicious. It’s snow-covered outside and everyone’s been sick, so these were like a bite of sunshine!”

Well, I looked at that and thought I could use a bite of sunshine! It was just a few weeks past a year from that entry, and boy was I in the same spot again. Sick kids, stress, car troubles and life all overwhelming me. Thankfully it wasn’t snow-covered outside, but these “Sunshine Cookies” were just what the doctor ordered, well for me anyway (and bonus! I didn’t have to wait at the pharmacy for an hour with screaming fighting children to get them!)

These cookies are sweet and chewy with the perfect amount of lemon tartness. Little rays of sunshine to brighten up any day!

  

Chewy Lemon Sugar Cookies

(from Patent and the Pantry)

Makes 3 1/2 dozen

Ingredients
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
1 1/2 cups white sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla paste or extract
zest of one large lemon
juice of one large lemon, about 4 tablespoons

2 3/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup sugar for rolling cookies

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees farenheit. Line baking sheets with silpats or parchment paper.

In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until fluffy, about 4 minutes. Beat in egg, vanilla, lemon zest and juice.

Add in flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Mix til combined.

Roll dough into rounded spoonfuls about 1 1/2 tsp, and then roll in sugar. Place on baking sheet a few inches apart.

Bake for 8-10 minutes. Let cool on baking sheet for 2 minutes and remove to wire cooling rack.

Comments on: "Chewy Lemon Sugar Cookies" (2)

  1. prairiesummers said:

    I am with you- I nee a bit of sunshine lol

  2. I am making these soon! And I am sure they would be awesome with some icing in the middle. Leave it to me to think of icing.

Leave a Reply

