food and family in salt lake city

Drool worthy salad dressing. That’s right, a salad dressing that induces drool.

I despise store bought salad dressings. I buy them because I can’t always have homemade on hand, but every time I use them, I don’t finish my salad…it’s the truth. Homemade salad dressings have so much more flavor and freshness to them. So much so that once you try them, you won’t want to go back. You’ll have to sometimes, because life happens, but you’ll be sad about it. Boo hoo.

The other week I went to dinner at a cousin’s for a birthday party, and she served this dressing. I could have eaten it with a spoon, but seeing as it was not my house, I did not take that liberty. Instead, I bought 4 pounds of strawberries the next week (they’re on sale everywhere ya know!) and made some of my own. I didn’t have all the ingredients to make it, so I tweaked it by adding balsamic vinegar which is one of my favorite ingredients. It turned out so delicious, and I am sad to say is already all gone. Boo hoo.

So here are the two dressings, the one I tweaked and the original. Both will induce you to eat your veggies until there is no more dressing left…and then you’re on your own with your veggies.

  

Strawberry Balsamic Dressing

(makes just under a pint)

1/2 cup Balsamic Vinegar (mine was infused with pomegranate)
1/2 cup sugar (or honey)
1/2 tsp dry mustard
1 tbsp minced onion
1/2 cup olive oil
1 cup Fresh Strawberries (I measured after I washed and chopped them)
dash of pepper

Strawberry Vinaigrette

(The original version, through a cousin from a “friend in Georgia”)

1/2 cup Strawberry Vinegar (or 1/4 c Raspberry Wine Vinegar & 1/4 c Rice Vinegar)
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 tsp dry mustard
1 Tbsp minced onion
1 tsp poppy seeds
1/3 – 1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup Fresh Strawberries

Directions for both Dressings
Combine all ingredients into a blender; puree for about 45 seconds.  Keep in a jar or container with a lid, and chill till ready to use. Keeps for 7 to 10 days (not really though, because you’ll eat it all before then!).

For the salad in the photos
Combine a little of each of the following and top with dressing:

a few handfuls of mixed spring greens (spinach would taste awesome too)
sliced almonds
craisins
feta cheese
sliced strawberries

Comments on: "Strawberry Balsamic Salad Dressing" (3)

  1. 🙂 So glad you like it!! It’s SO worth the effort to spend a few minutes making salad dressing, especially since it gets me to eat more greens than I otherwise would.

  2. Is all that sugar necessary? Have you ever made it with less or no sugar?

    • The original version called for 3/4 cup of sugar, which I cut to a 1/2 cup, but I think you can try it with minimal sugar by slowly adding small amounts of sugar and tasting it till it gets to your liking. Also try some honey or agave instead. If your strawberries are really ripe, I bet you wouldn’t need much in the way of a sweetner. Let me know how much you end up using and liking.

Leave a Reply

