food and family in salt lake city

Homemade Caramel Sauce

Here’s a last-minute gift idea, perfect for friends, neighbors or just yourself, (and a promise from me to post something besides dessert in January!)

This year for Christmas I am giving our neighbors either a box of Christmas Cookies (Linzers with Three berry Jam, Chocolate Peppermint Crinkles, Peanut Butter Blossoms, and Chocolate Chunk Blondies with Sea Salt) or a jar of this wonderfully rich and creamy Caramel Sauce.

   

The caramel sauce is pretty easy to make and tastes divine. I’ve never made caramel sauce before and I was surprised at how easy it was. I’ve made 4 batches since.

You can drizzle it on ice cream, pie or pound cake. You can dip apple slices in it. You can dip popcorn in it. You can eat it by the spoonful.  I may or may not have done the last two, and if I did, I would probably recommend it. Either way, you’ll enjoy it and those you gift it to, will also.

So Merry Gifting, and here’s to hoping your season is filled with:

giving, snuggling, days spent in your jammies,

 

plays starring stuffed Christmas animals, snow if you want it,

   

noses pressed against frosted window panes, delicious goodies,

   

and dear sweet little Baby Jesus.

   

Have a very Merry Christmas!

Homemade Caramel Sauce

(from Southern Living Ultimate Christmas Cookbook)

Makes 1 3/4 cups

Ingredients
1 1/4 cups sugar
1/3 cup water
3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
1/3 cup butter, cut into pieces
1/2 tsp vanilla (I used Mexican Vanilla)

Directions
Combine sugar and water in a large heavy saucepan; cook over medium-low heat, stirring often, until sugar dissolves. Increase heat to medium-high, and boil gently, without stirring, until syrup turns a deep amber color, occasionally brushing down sides of pan with a wet pastry brush and swirling pan (about 8-10 minutes). (Swirling the pan, instead of stirring promotes more even cooking.) Gradually add cream (sauce will bubble vigorously). Add butter; stir gently until smooth. Remove from heat, and stir in vanilla.

The caramel will get thicker as it cools. I found it easiest to pour the hot caramel into the jar before it thickens. This way I can get as much of the caramel out as possible without leaving it’s sticky-goodness in the pan.  I leave the lid off while the caramel cools. Refrigerate caramel, and reheat in the microwave when ready to use.

Comments on: "Homemade Caramel Sauce" (2)

  1. I just found out I needed some caramel topping for a salted caramel hot chocolate pie. I think this will be the winner!
    Thanks, Alicia!

Leave a comment